My Strength and My Song

Tonight as I get ready to go to sleep, my mind is swirling with so many things. I never knew it was possible to have this much going on at one time until I started college a month ago! And yet, there’s the strangest sense of peace that God gives in the midst of all my busyness.

Over the weekend, I was blessed to come home and spend time with family and friends. I even got to see the sky all full of stars and listen to the Southern Gospel music I grew up hearing my daddy play. But as Sunday went on and Monday morning came closer, I found myself feeling afraid.

I don’t live far from home, and originally I planned on going home about every other weekend. With the way events have fallen into place, it will work our better for me to stay here two weekends and then go home the next two. That didn’t sound so bad at first, but then I realized that I’ve never been away from home for that long. Suddenly, the three weeks in between visits seemed a lot longer. I love college, and all the people I’ve met here. I want to experience it to the fullest and make the most out of my time here. But it’s scary to be out on your own.

That’s another reason I’m so thankful to be where I am. This week is spiritual deepening week on campus, and today we were challenged to think about what our prayer would be for our community. My prayer for this week is that we would not only seek to honor God in all that we do, but that we would rely on His strength to do it, as well.

If you’re feeling tired and a bit overwhelmed, rest in Jesus. Let Him be your strength.

Blessings,

Sarah 🙂

Hebrews 10:23

Leave a comment